Skip to content

Legislative Service Agency & Research Directors Committee (LSA/RD)

Advancing Excellence within Legislatures

Comprised of nonpartisan legislative staff directors, the Legislative Service Agency & Research Directors committee (LSA/RD) is dedicated to delivering the best possible customer service to lawmakers while fostering a positive and professional workplace environment. Supporting this goal, committee members meet throughout the year to participate in professional development training. Learning from topic experts – as well as peer review of processes, procedures, and best practices – the committee seeks to strengthen the work of their respective legislative institutions.

For information about the committee, please contact Jennifer Schanze, Director of Operations.

Committee Leadership
Image for Joe Kolman

Joe Kolman

Montana

Chair

Joe Kolman is the director of research and environmental policy for the Montana Legislature, where he’s worked since…

Read More
Image for Jessica Geary

Jessica Geary

Alaska

Vice Chair

Jessica Geary was appointed Executive Director of the Legislative Affairs Agency in February 2018; she has over seventeen…

Read More
Committee Roster

Alaska

Ms. Jessica Geary
Executive Director
Alaska Legislative Affairs Agency
State Capitol, Room 3
Juneau, AK 99801-1182
Phone: (907) 465-3800
Fax: (907) 465-3234
jessica.geary@akleg.gov

Ms. Santé Lesh
Deputy Executive Director
Alaska Legislative Affairs Agency
State Capitol, Room 3
Juneau, AK 99801-1182
Phone: (907) 465-4824
Fax: (907) 465-3234
sante.lesh@akleg.gov

Ms. Megan Wallace
Director, Legal Services
Alaska Legislative Affairs Agency
State Capitol, Room 3
Juneau, AK 99801-1182
Phone: (907) 465-2450
Fax: (907) 465-2029
megan.wallace@akleg.gov

Ms. Emily Nauman
Deputy Director, Legal Services
Alaska Legislative Affairs Agency
State Capitol, Room 3
Juneau, AK 99801-1182
Phone: (907) 465-2450
Fax: (907) 564-2029
emily.nauman@akleg.gov

Arizona

Mr. Michael Braun
Executive Director
Arizona Legislative Council
Legislative Services Wing, Suite 100
1700 West Washington Street
Phoenix, AZ 85007-2899
Phone: (602)926-4236
Fax: (602) 926-4803
mbraun@azleg.gov

California

Ms. Cara L. Jenkins
Legislative Counsel
California Legislative Bureau
State Capitol, Suite 3021
Sacramento, CA 95814
Office: (916)341-8200
cara.jenkins@legislativecounsel.ca.gov

Mr. Fred Messerer
Principal Deputy
Legislative Counsel
925 L Street, Suite 700
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 341-8196
fred.messerer@legislativecounsel.ca.gov

Mr. C. David Johnson, Jr.
Chief Deputy Legislative Counsel
Office of Legislative Counsel
925 L Street, Suite 700
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 341-8250
David.Johnson@legislativecounsel.ca.gov

Ms. Kathryn W. Londenberg
Chief Deputy, Legislative Counsel
Office of Legislative Counsel
925 L Street, Suite 700
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 341-8161
kathryn.londenberg@legislativecounsel.ca.gov

Colorado

Ms. Natalie Mullis
Director
Colorado Legislative Council
State Capitol Building, Room 029
200 E. Colfax
Denver, CO 80203
Phone: (303) 866-4778
Fax: (303) 866-3855
natalie.mullis@state.co.us

Ms. Elizabeth Burger
Deputy Director
Colorado Legislative Council
State Capitol Building, Room 029
200 E. Colfax
Denver, CO 80203
Phone: (303) 866-6272
Fax: (303) 866-3855
elizabeth.burger@state.co.us

Mr. Manish Jani
Deputy Director
Colorado Legislative Council
State Capitol Building, Room 029
200 E. Colfax
Denver, CO 80203
Phone: (303) 866-3521
Fax: (303) 866-3855
manish.jani@state.co.us

Ms. Sharon Eubanks
Director
Colorado Office of Legislative Legal Services
State Capitol Building, Room 091
200 E. Colfax
Denver, CO 80203
Phone: (303) 866-4336
Fax: (303) 866-4157
sharon.eubanks@state.co.us

Ms. Julie Pelegrin
Deputy Director
Colorado Office of Legislative Legal Services
State Capitol Building, Room 091
200 E. Colfax
Denver, CO 80203
Phone: (303) 866-2700
Fax: (303) 866-4157
julie.pelegrin@state.co.us

Mr. Matt Dawkins
Office Manager
Colorado Office of Legislative Legal Services
State Capitol Building, Room 091
200 E. Colfax
Denver, CO 80203
Phone: (303) 866-4351
Fax: (303) 866-4157
matthew.dawkins@state.co.us

Mr. Jeremiah Barry
Deputy Director
Colorado Office of Legislative Legal Services
Phone: (303) 866-4351
jerry.barry@state.co.us

Ms. Cathy Eslinger
Research Manager
Colorado Legislative Council Staff
State Capitol Building, Room 029
200 E. Colfax
Denver, CO 80203
Phone: (303) 866-3560
cathy.eslinger@state.co.us

Hawaii

Ms. Charlotte Carter-Yamauchi
Director
Hawaii Legislative Reference Bureau
State Capitol, Room 446
415 South Beretania Street
Honolulu, HI 96813
Phone (808) 587-0666
Fax: (808) 587-0681
yamauchi@capitol.hawaii.gov

Mr. Shawn Nakama
Assistant Director, Research Division
Hawaii Legislative Reference Bureau
State Capitol, Room 446
415 South Beretania Street
Honolulu, HI 96813
Phone (808) 587-0472
Fax: (808) 587-0681
nakama@capitol.hawaii.gov

Idaho

Ms. Terri Kondeff
Director
Idaho Legislative Services Office
Rm. W124, State Capitol Building
Boise, ID 83720-0054
Phone: (208) 334-4828
Fax: (208) 332-1471
tkondeff@lso.idaho.gov

Mr. Paul Headlee
Deputy Director
Idaho Legislative Services
Phone: (208) 334-4746
pheadlee@Iso.idaho.gov

Ms. Kristin Ford
Manager, Research & Legislation
Idaho Legislative Services
Rm. W142, State Capitol Building
Boise, ID 83720-0054
Phone: (208) 334-4859
Fax: (208) 334-2125
kford@lso.idaho.gov

Montana

Mr. Jerry Howe
Executive Director
Legislative Services Division
State Capitol, Room 112
P.O. Box 201706
1301 E. Sixth
Helena, MT 59620-1706
Phone: (406) 444-3066
jerry.howe@mt.gov

Mr. Joe Kolman
Director, Legislative Environmental Policy
Legislative Services Division
P.O. Box 201706
1301 E. Sixth
Helena, MT 59620-1706
Phone: (406) 444-3064
Fax: (406) 444-3036
joe.kolman@legmt.gov

Nevada

Ms. Brenda J. Erdoes
Director
Nevada Legislative
Counsel Bureau
Legislative Building
401 S. Carson Street
Carson City, NV 89701-4747
Phone: (775) 684-6833
Fax: (775) 684-6761
erdoes@lcb.state.nv.us

Mr. Nicolas (Nick) Anthony
Director, Research Division
Nevada Legislative
Counsel Bureau
Legislative Building
401 S. Carson Street
Carson City, NV 89701-4747
Phone: (775) 684-6614
Fax: (775) 684-6400
nanthony@lcb.state.nv.us

Mr. Roger Wilkerson
Chief of Administrative Division
Nevada Legislative
Counsel Bureau
Legislative Building
401 S. Carson Street
Carson City, NV 89701-4747
rwilkerson@lcb.state.nv.us

New Mexico

Mr. Raul E. Burciaga
Director
New Mexico Legislative Council Service
411 State Capitol
Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone: (505) 986-4600
Fax: (505) 986-4680
raul.burciaga@nmlegis.gov

Ms. Amy Chavez-Romero
Assistant Director for Drafting Services
New Mexico Legislative Council Service
411 State Capitol
Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone: (505) 986-4600
Fax: (505) 986-4685
amy.chavez-romero@nmlegis.gov

Mr. Jon Boller
Senior Staff Attorney
New Mexico Legislative Council Service
411 State Capitol
Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone: (505) 986-4618
Fax: (505) 986-4680
jon.boller@nmlegis.gov

Oregon

Mr. Brett Hanes
Legislative Administrator
State Capitol, Room 140A
900 Court Street NE
Salem, OR 97301
Phone: (503) 986-1848
brett.hanes@oregonlegislature.gov

Ms. Misty Freeman
Director
Legislative Policy and Research Office
900 Court Street NE
Salem, OR 97301
Phone: (503) 986-1484
Misty.Freeman@oregonlegislature.gov

Utah

Mr. John Cannon
Director
Office of Legislative Research
& General Counsel
W210 House Building
Salt Lake City, UT 84114
Phone: (801) 538-1032
Fax: (801) 538-1712
johncannon@le.utah.gov

Mr. Jonathan C. Ball
Director
Office of the Legislative Fiscal Analyst
House Building, Suite W310
Salt Lake City, UT 84114
Phone: (801) 538-1034
Fax: (801) 538-1692
jball@le.utah.gov

Ms. Megan Bolin
Managing Policy Analyst
Office of Legislative Research
& General Counsel
W210 House Building
Salt Lake City, UT 84114
Phone: (801) 538-1032
Fax: (801) 538-1712
mbolin@le.utah.gov

Washington

Ms. Kim Johnson
Director, Senate Committee Services
Washington State Senate
P.O. Box 40466
447 John A. Cherberg Building
Olympia, WA 98504-0466
Phone: (360) 786-7421
Fax: (360) 786-7899
kim.johnson@leg.wa.gov

Ms. Jill Reinmuth
Staff Director, Office of Program Research
Washington House of Representatives
P.O. Box 40600
230 John L. O’Brien Building
Olympia, WA 98504-0600
Phone: (360) 786-7103
Fax: (360) 786-7018
jill.reinmuth@leg.wa.gov

Wyoming

Mr. Matt Obrecht
Director
Wyoming Legislative
Service Office
200 West 24th Street
Cheyenne, WY 82002
Phone: (307) 777-7881
matt.obrecht@wyoleg.gov

Mr. Don Richards
Budget Fiscal Administrator
Wyoming Legislative
Service Office
200 West 24th Street
Cheyenne, WY 82002
Phone: (307) 777-7881
don.richards@wyoleg.gov

Ms. Tamara Rivale
Legislative Counsel
Wyoming Legislative
Service Office
200 West 24th Street
Cheyenne, WY 82002
Phone: (307) 777-7881
tamara.rivale@wyoleg.gov

Mr. Ian Shaw
Legal Division Administrator
Wyoming Legislative
Service Office
200 West 24th Street
Cheyenne, WY 82002
Phone: (307) 777-7881
ian.shaw@wyoleg.gov

Ms. Lily Sharpe
Interim Research and Evaluation Administrator
Wyoming Legislative
Service Office
200 West 24th Street
Cheyenne, WY 82002
Phone: (307) 777-7881
Lily.Sharpe@wyoleg.gov

Ms. Tania Hytrek
Operations Administrator
Wyoming Legislative
Service Office
200 West 24th Street
Cheyenne, WY 82002
Phone: (307) 777-7881
tania.hytrek@wyoleg.gov

Upcoming Events
See All
Past Events
See All
Image for 2020 Virtual Annual Meeting

2020 Virtual Annual Meeting

Due to the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, CSG West hosted a first of its kind virtual Annual…

Read More
Image for 74th CSG West Annual Meeting

74th CSG West Annual Meeting

Mark your calendar for the 74th CSG West Annual Meeting to be hosted September 28 – October 1,…

Read More
Image for Legislative Service Agency & Research Directors Training Seminar

Legislative Service Agency & Research Directors Training Seminar

Made up of the nonpartisan legislative staff directors of the West, the Legislative Services Agency & Research Directors…

Read More

News & Updates
See All